UPSC Exam Eligibility 2018 – Eligibility Criteria and Age Limit

Sharing is caring

‘Indian Administrative Service’ abbreviated as IAS, tops the list of the civil services of the Government of India by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). It is usually considered as the premier civil service job in India. IAS is one among the three ‘All India Services’. Its cadre can be employed by both the Union Government, the State Government and public-sector undertakings.

IAS, as the permanent bureaucracy in India, forms the inseparable part of the executive branch of the Government of India. They also represent Government of India at international level in bilateral and multilateral negotiations.

IAS is a part of the Civil Services Exam conducted by a Constitutional body, the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). There are around 22 other services and posts which are the part of the Civil Services Exam. All the Civil Service exams consist of 3 stages- Prelims, Mains and Interview.

In this article, let us discuss about the UPSC Exam Eligibility for the upcoming June 2018 examination.

UPSC Exam Eligibility Criteria:

1. Academic Eligibility:

A candidate must hold a Degree (Graduation) from any of the Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India,

  •  or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament.
  • or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956.
  • or possess an equivalent qualification.

Final year students can also apply.

[mks_pullquote align=”center” width=”250″ size=”24″ bg_color=”#dd3333″ txt_color=”#ffffff”]A candidate must hold a Degree[/mks_pullquote]

2. Age Limit:

A candidate must be minimum 21 years and maximum 32 years old as on August 1st, 2017.

The above said upper age limit is relaxable for the following candidates:

  • 5 years relaxation for Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST).
  • 3 years relaxation for Other Backward Classes (OBC).
  • 5 years relaxation for candidates who had settled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir from the 1st January 1980 to the 31st December 1989.
  • 3 years relaxation for Defence Services personnel.
  • 5 years relaxation for ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service as on 1st August 2017.
  • 5 years relaxation in the case of ECOs/SSCOs.
  • 10 years relaxation for Blind,  deaf-mute and orthopedically handicapped persons.

3. Nationality:

Candidate must be

  • A citizen of India.
  • A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan.
  • A Tibetan Refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 to be settled permanently in India.
  • A person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zaire, or Zambia in order to settle down permanently in India.

4. The number of attempts allowed:

Upper age limit for doesn’t mean a candidate can write the exam until the limit is reached. There are restrictions on number of times a candidate can appear for the exam, again this differs for categories.

  • 6 attempts for General Category Candidates.
  • Unlimited attempts for Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST) up to the age of 37 years.
  • 9 attempts for Other Backward Classes (OBC).

[mks_pullquote align=”center” width=”250″ size=”24″ bg_color=”#dd3333″ txt_color=”#ffffff”]6 attempts for General Category Candidates[/mks_pullquote]

If you liked this article, perhaps you will like some of the other posts, do keep an eye on our blog for continuous updates! If you have any enquires, please post them in the comment below!

Sharing is caring

No Responses

Leave a Reply